The End

Well avid readers, a lot has happened in the last month. I finished finals for seventh semester, we had our class Transition Ceremony, I moved back to the United States, I bought a Jeep, I acquired 484369_4068631642167_691848083_na roommate and his lovely bulldog, I completed orientation at LSU SVM and alas tomorrow is my first day of my clinical and last year of vet school.

It has been an amazing journey, I honestly loved St. Kitts and Ross University. Living in the Caribbean is life changing in so many ways. It gives you an appreciation for America in a way that is impossible to acquire without living abroad; it also gives you a really nice tan. I hope this blog can give future students an inside look into the country. The island provides amazing opportunities: I have swam to a different island, caught a wild sea turtle, helped raise a goat, adopted a few dogs, went to a cricket game, and traveled all over the Caribbean.  It is not without its challenges however: high crime rate, high cost of living, high poverty rate, corrupt politics, limited shopping, airline challenges, random island frustrations and cultural barriers. But in my opinion, these things only give you strength to accomplish anything. The electricity goes out during surgery? No problem! At Ross that happens all the time !  Lol.

As for the school itself, I feel more than prepared to enter my clinical year at this US vet school; Caribbean schools by no means are inferior education. It was challenging just to remain in the program. Most US vet schools work hard to keep you in the program once you are accepted. Ross has a policy of no second chances. Make no mistakes, Ross is challenging on many levels, but completely gratifying in the end.

I brought home two dogs and three suticases from the island. My entire life is condensed and I am constantly traveling. I hope to finally being the process of settling down as I begin this clinical year. I love the area of Baton Rouge/New Orleans so far. There is a lot of culture, history and amazing food.

Thanks to those who have followed this blog. It got a lot more readers than I anticipated when I first made it. I hope it is a helpful insight into living abroad and vet school at Ross. If you would like to continue to follow my journey to becoming a veterinarian, my new blog address is here.

–THE END–

185417_507258682633855_338636674_n

About kris10thornton

24 year old vet student living in the carribean who loves traveling, playstation, music, basketball, pigeons and flavor blasted goldfish.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The End

  1. Cindy Shaffer says:

    Congratulations Kristen. That’s a hell of an accomplishment. I especially loved reading about the cat spay an cattle rectal exam.

Leave a comment